AfroBoricua Book Reviews: Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1) by Zoraida Cordova


Summary: Nothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.
I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candles and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house – my entire family — is gone.
Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.
The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…
Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone with an infusion of Latin American tradition in this highly original fantasy adventure.

My Review:
Rating: 5 out of 5 stars
Would I Recommend?: Hell yeah I would!
Disclosure: Won a copy from http://t.co/f1OdbZBZjm , No spoilers!

This book is everything I needed as a little girl, when all I saw in books and tv where white faces. Our protagonist is Alejandra Mortiz, a brown girl from Brooklyn who just happens to be a bruja. Unlike all of the brujas around Alex doesn’t revel in her power, instead she does her best to repel it. Alex is the protagonist that so many little boys and girls right now need. She is devoted to her family, yet still gets embarrassed by them and the culture she grew up in. It speaks volumes to so many people today who struggle with accepting where they come from. Alex’s journey in this book was therapeutic, as I followed her through Los Lagos to get to her family I also began a journey too. I began to finally and fully accept my Puerto Rican heritage and the family that came with it. I began to accept my Dominican (not the Dominican Republic) heritage and my lack of knowledge of that side. This book taught me that I was enough no matter what people may say or think about me, it taught me that I can be the hero too in spite of my skin color or hair. I love this book its mythology and world building is rich and inspiring. The characters were amazing making me think of own family as I read about them. It means so much to me write this during Hispanic Heritage Month, it’s so rare to a book with a Latinx main character and I can’t wait to read more about Alex and her family.

Leave a Reply

