AfroBoricua Reads Book Reviews: Furthermore By Tahereh Mafi

31694020

Summary: There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit—and with a liar by her side in land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father Alice must first find herself—and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

My Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommendation: Yes! Every child should read this book.

Disclosure: Borrowed from my local library. No spoilers.

I have finally join the Tahereh Mafi cult. I’ve heard so much about this author that it kinda of put me off of reading her books because of the hype. But when I saw Furthermore was at my local library I decided to go for it, and I was not disappointed.

Her writing style was enchanting, every time I opened the book I was amazed at how she spun her words and made Alice and Oliver seem to come right off the page. The story was brilliant and so poignant it’s the kind of book I needed as a kid. It’s message to love yourself made me want to cry, at time when kids face so many insecurities about themselves this book matters.

I can’t think of enough great things to say about this book. It just seemed so fantastical to me. I’ve never had such a desire to own a book as much as this one it means so much to me and whenever the sequel comes out I will be the first in line to buy it because every kid needs this book to know they are valid, real, and beautiful just the way they are.

I encourage you to read this book if you haven’t because the message is so real and vital to the times we live in.

Leave a Reply

