AfroBoricua Reads Book Reviews: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Did Not Finish!

Borrowed from my library’s OverDrive catalog. No spoilers

I have been wanting to read this book for a really long time, and when my library had it on OverDrive I placed a hold and waited. I went in blind and virtually knew nothing about the plot or characters, I didn’t even follow the author on social media!

As soon as I started reading it I got Hunger Games vibes. Mare and Kilorn reminded me so much of Katniss and Gale it was frightening. As the book progressed I just wasn’t clicking with the characters and couldn’t find anything I liked about this book that was worthy of the buzz.

I kept reading and eventually I gave up because this book just wasn’t for me. I especially disliked the names of the characters, they sounded made up and ridiculous. I really wish I liked this book, but I didn’t and I don’t think I’ll give it another go anytime soon.

View all my reviews

1 Comment

  1. I’m sorry this one didn’t work out for you! I actually really loved it – though I had thought I’d hate it based on the negative reviews I’d read – but I still kinda share your points. That said, I thought this was an exciting book, with some kickass characters & I’m excited for the sequels (but also scared, bc I totally understand why people dislike RQ, and I’m afraid I’ll stop loving it too in the sequels).
    Great review! Hope your next read will be better! 🙂
    Veronika @ The Regal Critiques

    Like

Leave a Reply

