AfroBoricua Reads Book Reviews: The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera

26594801

 

Summary: Pretty in Pink comes to the South Bronx in this bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted—from debut author Lilliam Rivera.

THINGS/PEOPLE MARGOT HATES:

Mami, for destroying my social life
Papi, for allowing Junior to become a Neanderthal
Junior, for becoming a Neanderthal
This supermarket
Everyone else

After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sanchez suddenly finds herself grounded. And by grounded, she means working as an indentured servant in her family’s struggling grocery store to pay off her debts.

With each order of deli meat she slices, Margot can feel her carefully cultivated prep school reputation slipping through her fingers, and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Margot’s invitation to the ultimate beach party is within reach and she has no intention of letting her family’s drama or Moises—the admittedly good looking but outspoken boy from the neighborhood—keep her from her goal.

My Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommendation: YES! A million times yes!

Disclosure: I was given an eARC from Simon & Schuster and Jellybooks in exchange for reading statistics. (Release Date- February 21, 2017)  No spoilers.

 

Before I start the actual review, I want you to just take a moment. A moment where you imagine yourself as a child, a child who doesn’t know what they look like. A child who grew up hearing “But you don’t look x,” “You look like you have a raccoon on your head,” or worse silence. Now imagine you see a YouTube video from a booktuber saying she doesn’t give two craps about diversity. This is just a brief glimpse into my life and why I started blogging. I felt this was important to say because I’m proud of myself, and where I come from. I’m also so proud of Lilliam Rivera for writing this book, because books can educate people and hope this story really educates people.

Margot Sanchez is a confused teenage girl. I know shocking right? I mean what teenager regardless of gender isn’t confused? Let me tell you why this may come as a shock to some. Margot goes to a virtually all-white prep school and is struggling to fit in. When she finally makes some “friends” she starts to change everything about herself to fit in. Margot takes it too far and is forced to work at her father’s store.

Over the course of this novel you start to see how Margot has just completely reinvented herself just to be liked. It was honestly painful to read this at times, Margot reminded me of what I was like in school and just wanted to be seen and heard. Now, Margot doesn’t just one day realize she doesn’t need to do these things, it’s a slow process for her to come to terms with this. I think it made the story more humanized than anything for her to slowly come to terms with this.

This book is just so poignant about Latinx culture and how we struggle to fit in. I just can’t say enough about this book it means so much to me to have a book like this.The fact that it only comes out in a few months and the world will see it makes me so happy, I can’t even tell you.  Just buy the book when it comes and support this wonderful author!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

