AfroBoricua Reads Book Reviews: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig 


Summary:

Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.
As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.
But the end to it all looms closer every day.
Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting it—and going there—could erase Nix’s very existence.
For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.
She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.
Or she could disappear.
My Review:

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Recommendation: Yes!

Disclosure: A lovely friend from the UK sent me a copy. No spoilers

I hesitated on wanting to read this book because the whole traveling on a ship and time travel didn’t appeal to me. But then I found out Nix was biracial and based on the author herself and decide to see if I would like it for myself. Spoiler alert if you couldn’t tell by the rating ^ I absolutely loved it!

This story was fresh and original right from the start. From the worldbuilding  to the characters, and plot lines it was an enchanting read. The writing was fantastic, I couldn’t believe that this was Heidi’s debut.

I love the way Nix and the crew have to time travel. Using the maps and the whole concept of learning to steer the ship is ingenious. As a whole the entire world building is so fresh and original it’s refreshing to see in YA. 

One of my favorite parts of this story is Kash. He is so swoon worthy! I’m in love with Nix and Kash’s interactions, the way he cares for is great to see as you see so many harmful relationships in YA.

All in all I adored this book. It was such a great read as it seems like every YA novel is the same. I’m excited for the sequel The Ship Beyond Time which comes out 2/28! 

Leave a Reply

